Getting to know our shortlist: Stewart McDonald

As we move closer to announcing the 2017 winner of the Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize on March 27th, find out more about our top 6…

Writer: Stewart McDonald, Liverpool

Play: Mummy’s Boy

Dumped by his girlfriend just days before their romantic getaway to Italy, a young man reluctantly takes his brash mother along for the trip. Mummy’s Boy was inspired by Stewart’s own experience, after he and his girlfriend had a row before they were due to go on a romantic trip across Europe. Luckily, they reconciled, and this also gave Stewart the idea for his play, which examines the parent-child relationship, and how families can become disconnected over time.

Web developer Stewart has been part of Liverpool Network Theatre for the last seven years. His experience as an actor led him to write and direct his first play Millionaires Anonymous, which premiered at the Unity Theatre in Liverpool in 2015 and went on tour around the North West in 2016. Mummy’s Boy is the follow-up play, which Stewart penned as part of the Everyman Playwrights’ Programme.

Stewart says: “My girlfriend and I were due to go on a romantic trip across Europe, but we had big row a week before our flight. Being consoled by my mum, I said, ‘Imagine if we split up…I can’t go on my own.’ My mum said, ‘Well… I’ll go with you’. And that was it, the seed was planted. Thankfully, my girlfriend and I reconciled and had a lovely time, but writing the play went beyond just a mother and son/odd-couple holiday. It really got me examining the parent-child relationship, and how families can become disconnected over time.”

Web developer Stewart has been part of Liverpool Network Theatre for the last seven years. His experience as an actor led him to write and direct his first play Millionaires Anonymous, which premiered at the Unity Theatre in Liverpool in 2015 and went on tour around the North West in 2016. Mummy’s Boy is the follow-up play, which Stewart penned as part of the Everyman Playwrights’ Programme.

Stewart adds: “It’s very difficult as a writer to get any kind of industry exposure and I thought this competition was a great chance to get my name out there and see if people found my work funny, whilst also connecting with the characters and the underlying themes.”

Leave a Reply

